melagee

work in progress

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Plans of Fun

Posted by melagee on July 3, 2009

I decided when I first moved to Vancouver that I was really eager to get into some of the fun free events I’d been so used to back in Toronto.  I’d had so much fun participating in street games and festivals and open conferences and meetings.  Unfortunately, it seems as though there really aren’t that many opportunities for such things here, which I found really dissapointing.

To be fair, some of it is probably that I still don’t know the city that well.  But I am an impatient person and fun and free wait for no woman!  so I decided that if I can’t find the kind of events I want to attend, then I will just have to make them.  If newmindspace is any indication, it doesn’t require a lot of out-of-pocket expense, just a little bit of leg work, and in exchange I get to have buckets of fun.

so in the interest of having fun, I present to you: Yay! Gee! A new group designed to use public spaces in Vancouver for fun and games, and subsequently make Vancouver a more fun place to live.  I have a few ideas for things we can do (the Bubble Bash is already in the works!) and am also interested in receiving input from others.  I’m not an island, and other people may have some fabulous and amazing ideas.  Yay! Gee! is really just about giving people a voice for those ideas, and maybe some helping hands for implimentation.

So far it’s not been easy getting people to care, but I’m spunky and determined and I refuse to give up (thanks, Heath!).  Yay! Gee! is going to keep coming up with fabulous ideas for how to use our public space in fun and exciting ways, and you, the people of Vancouver, will have more fun than you ever thought possible because of it.  🙂  I have faith in this.

Leave a Reply

 
