melagee

work in progress

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Supporto Pals

Posted by melagee on July 13, 2009

I was told by a friend last week that I am one of the most supportive people he’s ever known.  And I think that’s true.  I think that when I know that someone wants to do something or go somewhere or be someone, I go all out in supporting them in their efforts.  I try to help them get what they want because I know that sometimes all that’s really missing is having someone believe in you.

Like everyone, I’ve done many things in my life that were challenging and new, and like everyone, I’ve had people in my life tell me it couldn’t be done.  I’ve been told that I’m not smart enough, not rich enough, not important enough.  I like to think that whatever the doubters say I go ahead with what I know I want to do and I give it my best effort and regardless of the outcome I will always be able to say that at least I tried.

Lately I’ve been feeling kind of disappointed with some of the reactions I get when I tell people I have this idea or I want to do that thing.  It’s not so much that I’m getting people doubting me as it is that I’m not getting a lot of encouragement and support.  I don’t think that people are failing to respond out of maliciousness – no, it’s far worse than that – I just think that people are basically apathetic about a lot of things.

I’ve always been a person filled with passion and aside from just wanting to support my friends, I get really enthusiastic about new things that people want to try.  Whether it’s new for them or just new in general, I love it when people TRY.  Even if they know that it’s likely they’ll fail, even if there’s nothing substantive to be gained or created, just to try and do something that hasn’t been done before is an extremely exciting prospect to me.  And it makes me terribly sad when other people don’t share that excitement.

Fortunately there are a few people in my life who are supportive and encouraging and back me up when I try to do something different, and I am immensely grateful for those people.  So thank you, people who support me.  🙂  I think you know who you are.

One Response to “Supporto Pals”

  1. Karen said

    Lately I’ve been feeling kind of disappointed with some of the reactions I get when I tell people I have this idea or I want to do that thing. It’s not so much that I’m getting people doubting me as it is that I’m not getting a lot of encouragement and support. I don’t think that people are failing to respond out of maliciousness – no, it’s far worse than that – I just think that people are basically apathetic about a lot of things.

    We ought to check our birthdays. I swear, I’ve been feeling the exact same thing. I’ve called it “taking the wind out of my sails” and I entirely agree that even though it’s not purposeful or malicious, it kind of hurts! I’ve also had someone call it “overcorrecting,” in the sense that I find it a gift that I have crazy ideas at all and feel it’s my duty to jump up and down on them as much as humanly possible before abandoning them as possible awesomeness, because I used to not have them.

    From one odd person to another, I salute you in your pursuit of difference. With a mignon on a flaming sword! Unless you’re vegetarian. In which case, deep fried tofu cubes. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
