melagee

work in progress

And in further vegetarian news…

Posted by melagee on July 25, 2009

I’m not actually a vegetarian anymore.

I fell off the wagon about two weeks ago, and I have no plans to go back to it right now.  It’s probably going to happen at some point, but I’m not thinking about it right now.  Essentially, I felt like I had too much stress in my life.  While I’m sure it comes easy for many people, being a vegetarian was really hard for me because I did so enjoy the taste of meat.  I took a stand on principle, and living up to that stand was a constant struggle.  Not just on a mental level, but also a physical one; I was a lazy vegetarian and didn’t make sure I was eating the right kinds of foods and getting all of the essentials.

I’d been thinking about going back to meat for a while, as a way to relieve some of the stress I felt, and then one day a couple of weeks ago, I had a really bad day.  Stress overload.  Fuck it, I thought. I’m getting a ham and cheese sandwich.  And it was a pretty delicious sandwich.

Not surprisingly, I have a list of foods I am eager to eat again, now that I’m allowed:

  • chicken wings
  • meatloaf
  • chicken fried steak
  • pepperoni pizza (done)
  • fish and chips
  • campbell’s chicken noodle soup
  • turkey dinner (this is the big one)
  • chicken katsu

I’m sure that sooner or later I’ll start to feel the guilt of my actions – I became a vegetarian in the first place for ethical reasons – and end up going back to the “light” side, but for now I am really enjoying my indulgences.  Ooo, I forgot to add marshmallows and jell-o to the list!  Mmmm, jell-o.

Leave a Reply

 
