melagee

work in progress

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Tattoo Plans

Posted by melagee on July 25, 2009

I have alot of plans for tattoos that I want to get – I have a long list that will probably take me the rest of my life to fill, and is still a work in progress – and I love that right now I live in a place where tattoos are completely normal and socially acceptable.

I didn’t realize until I moved to Vancouver, how unacceptable it is to have a tattoo when you live in Toronto.  When I moved here I got a larger piece done on my shoulder, and when I walk out and about in Vancouver, no one even bats an eye.  Everyone here has tattoos – and not just tiny flowers on their ankles or asian script on their arm – people here have massive tattoos.  Giant dragons decorating their rib cages, flowers blossoming largely on their legs, diamonds and swallows covering their arms and wrists.  It’s so absolutely normal here for people to have large and noticeable tattoos, to the degree that people don’t even think twice about going to job interviews with their tattoos showing.  Toronto, by comparison, is not quite as used to body modification/art.

When I went back to visit Toronto recently, I was surprised at the number of people who stared at my tattoo.  I also noticed fir the first time that I was not surrounded by people who have tattoos.  I had gotten so used to seeing them wherever I went, it was kind of jarring to not see many of them.  And the ones that I did see were small or subtle, or easily hidden.  People in Vancouver don’t seem to care about hiding their tattoos.

And I like that.  I like that I live in a place that doesn’t care if you experiment.  I like that I live in a place that is relaxed and tolerant of people when they want to step outside of their box.  I like that I feel like I can be who I want and do what I want with my own body, and no one will think I’m weird of single me out by staring at me.  I’m not blaming people in Toronto for staring, I’m sure they’re either just admiring the work or are surprised to see it, but I’m glad that stuff like that doesn’t happen so much here.

2 Responses to “Tattoo Plans”

  1. A little over halfway done!!!

    That’s really awesome, I personally, love my 3 small tattoos and can’t wait to get some more. It does feel nice to know they are more widely accepted, though there are still a few people who think of them as “trashy”. Like my boyfriend. But what does he know? 😛

    Congratulations on making it this far, looking forward to seeing you the rest of the night!!

    • melagee said

      bah! your boyfriend need a punch in the arm! tattoos are pretty and fun and expressive. you go on and get yourself inked up some more!

Leave a Reply

 
