melagee

work in progress

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The Boyfriend List #9: Christian Bale

Posted by melagee on July 25, 2009

It’s a fantasy list, so I’m allowed to be really shallow, right?

Bale is on here mostly for his affiliation with Batman, a character I have long found fascinating and sexy.  And the fact is that some Batmen are sexier than others.  Michael Keaton’s stellar turn at the role notwithstanding, Christian Bale just does it for me in terms of sheer sex appeal.  And I don’t even mind that he’s kind of a jerk.  Mind?  I kind of like it.  He’s a jerk about something that matters a hell of a lot to him, and I kind of have to admire that level of passion.

When I look at Christian Bale, I see an actor first, and then a hot dude.  In every role I’ve seen him in he’s been dedicated.  He seems to throw himself into his craft, and I find that kind of single-minded determination to be very attractive.  Of course that may say more about my own neuroses than about my fondness for the new Batman.

Like I said, his role as Batman is what really pushed him onto this list.  I’m a huge comic book fan, and Batman is one of the most fascinating characters ever created.  Like the actor who plays him, Batman is dedicated to his work.  He sees the world, or at least Gotham, as a problem to be solved, and not a place to live in, love in, laugh in.  There is little to no room in Batman’s world for frivolity or any really anything other than crime fighting.  That’s probably why it’s so easy to say that Batman is who he really is, and Bruce Wayne is the mask.

So, do I wonder who Christian Bale really is under his mask?  Not really.  The boyfriend list exists as a way for me to oogle boys that I think are cute, in one way or another.  I don’t really need to, or want to, know about who the boys are in their real lives.  I will never meet them, and I don’t actually know anything about them right now.  I know the roles that Bale plays, and I know he’s a very pretty boy.  Everything beyond that is created from my imagination.  It’s fantasy, and I like it like that.  Reality would only get in the way.

 

2 Responses to “The Boyfriend List #9: Christian Bale”

  1. Donna said

    The problem with him is that I can’t help seeing him as his character from American Psycho and that’s just disturbing.

    • melagee said

      What’s even more disturbing is that his character in American Psycho reminded me of a friend of mine! 😮

Leave a Reply

 
