melagee

work in progress

The Webcomics List

Posted by melagee on July 25, 2009

I know, already, right?

Some webcomics you should read, include but are not limited to:

5) Diesel Sweeties

I’m not even sure how to justify this comic.  Maybe I don’t have to?  It’s a wildly popular comic and I enjoy it, but the fact is it’s only sometimes funny and often I don’t get it.  I think more than anything it’s the fondness for the characters that keeps me coming back.  I’m interested in what they’re up to, and the only way to find that out is to keep reading.

tesla

4) Hark! A Vagrant!

Oh, Kate Beaton, you are so close to being on the Girlfriend List!  Your comics are hilarious and off-beat, and you make history actually seem funny.  My favourite will always be the Tesla strip, which conveys his exasperation in such detail that I can’t help but giggle.  Who would ever think of surrounding Tesla with groupies?!  Kate Beaton would.  She’s one reason why I’m dissapointed that I don’t live in Toronto anymore.

3) xkcd

If you don’t read xkcd, or you don’t know why you should, I’m not sure what to say to you because I now think you’re an idiot.  This strip is consistently hilarious, even when you don’t get all the jokes, and the added bonus of smart makes xkcd an absolute essential.  This is a webcomic that inspires quotes among fans.  This is a webcomic that makes you feel smarter than you are, even when you don’t get the joke.  This is a webcomic that is just freaking hilarious.

2) Dinosaur Comics

Hello!  Meet the other reason I am sad I don’t live in Toronto anymore! (PS: there are actually more reasons!) Dinosaur comics is another one that is both hilarious and smart, but the hilarity in this one feels more personal.  Although I know that this is a super successful strip, I always feel like the type of humour is aimed more and me (and my kind) than at any mass audience.  You kind of feel like Ryan North is someone you could hang out with and be pals with.  Also, T-Rex is adorable. Also also, this strip gave me hours of enjoyment and caused me to seek out the commercial in reference.

1) Questionable Content

My absolutely, no doubt, unquestionably favourite webcomic ever.  I love this story so much.  It is frequently quite hilarious, but the really captivating thing about QC are the characters.  They’ve become so real, they even have Twitter accounts.  If you’re going to read this one, you have to go back to the beginning and work your way up to the present.  You cannot just wade in at any time.  This might seem like it makes difficult for new readers to get the hang of things, but the whole progression of starting from Day 1 and working your way to the end is so rewarding and enjoyable, I really don’t see it as a hindrance.

Leave a Reply

 
