melagee

work in progress

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

My Maple Tree

Posted by melagee on October 16, 2009


Not my maple tree, but one very much like it.

Not my maple tree, but one very much like it.

When I first moved to Vancouver, just over a year ago, one of my favourite things to do was to go outside and sit on a bench during my breaks.  There was a tree just outside the office that was turning the most beautiful shades of red, and every day I would sit there and just admire the tree and feel the passage of time.  It was very peaceful and I felt like I was actually taking time to appreciate my life and my day, which I think is a rare act.

Eventually, as happens in the fall, the leaves on the tree fell off and the branches were bare.  Last winter was an especially harsh one (particularly for Vancouver, I’m told) and I stopped sitting outside on my breaks and eventually started napping on them.  I started to feel more like I was just wasting my time and struggling to get through the day.  Occasionally I would walk by the tree, on my way somewhere else, and remember how pretty it had been in the fall and look forward to seeing the leaves bloom and again and turn red again next fall.

The other day I was walking out of the office, on my way home, and I walked by my maple tree, and noticed that almost all of the leaves had turned red and fallen off.  I was surprised to realize that the tree had been red for a couple of weeks now, and I hadn’t noticed.  I was too busy taking naps and being tired.  The tree that I had been waiting all year for, had come and gone in only a few weeks, and I had missed it.  I was so incredibly disappointed that I hadn’t gotten a photograph, or even noticed.

I have been spending so much time doing things because I have to that I haven’t spent very much time just enjoying myself in the past year.  It’s time for this to change.  I’m going to be radical and insist that it’s time to bring the fun back into my life.  And I know what I want to do first.

As an aside, while googling for pretty pictures of red maples, I came across this painting, which I thought was just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

 
