melagee

work in progress

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Experiments!

Posted by melagee on February 19, 2010

In an on-going effort to grow and push myself beyond my limits, I am trying a few different things in my life.  I can’t promise that I will update these experiments regularly, but I can try.  In the meantime, here’s what I’m doing.

1) Although I’m not a catholic in even the most remote sense of the word, I am interested in the idea of lent.  I think it’s a pretty good exercise to give up something that you really love for a limited period of time, just to prove to yourself that you can do it.  I’m pretty sure I’ve done this one before, but for lent this year I am giving up pop.  I will be forgoing both diet and regular pop for the duration, although I have given myself permission to take a break for my birthday because birthdays are the best time to sin.

I’ve been off of pop for uh three days so far and I am already jonesing.  As a lifelong pop-drinker, this will not be an easy thing for me to go without.

2) I have decided to read Twilight.  CRAZY, RIGHT?  But I’ve been joining the bandwagon in making fun of the thing without ever really knowing what exactly it is all about – I haven’t even seen the movie yet.

So far I am a few chapters in and the thing is just dreary.  It is not the most boring book I’ve ever read, but it feels like it’s been targetted at a much younger audience than I would have guessed based on the thickness of the book.  I can’t even say that it’s poorly written – it would have been right up my ally when I was 11 years old, but my tastes have advanced a bit beyond that level.

3) I’ve mentioned the writing experiement before, and so far it’s been going really well.  I’ve been keeping up with it every week, between writing blogs and fiction, and I am already learning some things about my style and process.  My end date for this experiement is the end of the year, but we will see how it goes as time progresses.

Leave a Reply

 
