melagee

work in progress

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Morning Walk: Conclusion

Posted by melagee on March 5, 2011

This week was the pilot project for the Morning Walks, and the conclusions are…inconclusive.

To be honest, on Tuesday I caught myself thinking This is not going to work out. I was only on my second day and I was already breaking up with mornings. I really don’t like waking up in the mornings.

What I do like, however, is eating a proper breakfast. Did you guys SEE my breakfast yesterday? That shit was tasty. And I never would have gotten up to make it if I hadn’t already gotten up to go for a walk. I like eating yummy food early in the morning. Before this I would usually eat nothing, or whatever tiny object I could grab from the fridge, like a piece of cheese or some nuts. Even making toast was too much effort for me. Now I’m like a damn gourmet lady with my egg poaching. It’s pretty cool.

I also like the idea of audiobooks. I like the idea that I get to experience a god book for the sake of my own personal enjoyment and not because I am required by any class I’m taking. I miss reading for fun, and this is a sort of compromise I can make for myself. No, it’s not nearly as much fun as actually reading a book, but I also like being told stories, so it’s fun in its own way. And I’m doing it because I want to, not because I have to, which I think is something I need in my life.

On the other hand, I hate hate hate waking up in the mornings, and with the exception of Friday, I have been super tired all week. Not just tired in the mornings, but tired all day long. I am drinking tea and eating well, yet I’m still drained. I think, as I said before, that a lot of that has to do with the fact that I’ve been working so much (and that a lot of my work is really dull).

The idea was to do the morning walks for one week and then see how I felt about it, and how I feel is that I don’t know how I feel. I’ve decided that I’m going to give it another week. I don’t know that my busy schedule will change at all, so I may still be exhausted, but we’ll see how it goes.

And no, I won’t be blogging about it every morning. 🙂 That was just for the first week. I’ll let you know how it goes, though. I was thinking I’d try making pancakes on Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

 
