melagee

work in progress

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Daily Walk: Day 1

Posted by melagee on April 18, 2011

I fucked up today’s walk.

I thought it would be a good idea to do today’s walk on my way home from work. The after-work walk is a tricky one to manage. First, you have to be wearing the right clothes and the right shoes. Second, you can’t have an appointment to get to, since it could actually take longer than an hour to do your hour-long walk. Thirdly, you need weather that’s at least nice enough to walk in, since sploshing around the rain in your work clothes is hardly desirable. Oh, and it also helps to not have a lot of stuff to carry home (which I usually do), and be prepared with a charged mp3 player.

All of these points were in my favour, so a nice walk home seemed like it would be a good idea. I decided to get off the bus about half-way home, which left me with an hour of walking. The fuck up came when I got off the bus and immediately started walking. What did I do wrong? I forgot to fucking stretch.

Stretching. UGH. It’s such an easy thing to forget, but so SO important to remember if you’re doing any type of strenuous exercise. Because I forgot to stretch my muscles before working them, I ended up getting shin splints after about 15 minutes of walking.  I had completely forgotten that this was something that happened to me if I started walking without stretching, and I felt like an idiot. I had to stop, sit down, stretch, and rest for a while before I could continue walking, and even then I was forced to go at a slower pace.

I got my hour walk in: I fulfilled my commitment to myself, but it feels like wasted effort since I wasn’t doing it properly.

Lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

 
