melagee

work in progress

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Happy Station

Posted by melagee on July 2, 2012

In Amsterdam right across from the train station (Amsterdam Centraal) there is a tiny little ice cream shop called Happy Station. One day when it was ridiculously humid and I had walked 40 minutes through mobs of sweaty people, I met Daniel at Centraal (where he had just come off of an airless train filled with sweaty people) and he said to me, “How do you feel about ice cream?”

First, that is a question that never needs to be asked. Second, I feel pretty good about it. Third, I would go to a place called Happy Station if all they were selling were used socks.

This is a cup of ice cream from Happy Station:

Contains actual Happiness.

The actual ice cream is hidden from you, because you could not handle the sight of its deliciousness. But let me tell you something, people, it is delicious. They make an ice cream concoction that is something like a blizzard or a mcflurry, but instead of filling it full of chocolate and caramel and freeze dried fruit (all fairly tasty things in their own right), they fill the ice cream with fresh fruit!

…okay, and chocolate and sprinkles and stuff, if you actually want it. Whatever, there’s fresh fruit and it is magnificent. I was in Amsterdam for five days, and I went to Happy Station three times. Each time was happier than the last. My only regret is that I never had the opportunity to try the fresh pineapple. Also, that I did not go about ten more times. Also also, that I could not take it home with me. Also also also, that I do not have a pony.

 

2 Responses to “Happy Station”

  1. You like ponies. You like ice cream. Maybe you don’t like pony ice cream so much. But isn’t it enough to know that I ruined a pony making a frozen treat for you?

  2. bloggyme said

    I totally loved reading these updates. Dan doesn’t blog anymore, so I miss out. But this is great stuff! I’m so glad you had a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

 
